"Glass can be more than just the transparent shell."
  • Heliumverflüssigungsanlage IFW
  • Siemens Headquarter
  • Alfred Brehm House
  • Pfaffensteinstraße
  • Musée Mineralique
  • Open Workshop
  • ADG Schloss Montabaur
  • Hans Otto Theatre
  • Nordsilo
  • Großes Tropenhaus

Binding under building legislation and civil law: DIN 18008

In 2014 and 2015, the German federal states successively introduced “DIN 18008 Glass in Building”. This new standard for glazing dimensioning replaces the technical regulations TRLV, TRAV and TRPV. This means that the previously standard concept for glazing dimensioning is being changed from documentation being required on tension and deflection to partial safety factors. “This documentation concept is up to date with regard to the Eurocode and is far more appropriate for a brittle material such as glass”, explains Sebastian Rücker, Managing Director of glasfaktor Ingenieure GmbH.

Requirement to provide documentation

As of the introduction of this standard, it is binding under building legislation and civil law. Companies working in construction will have further responsibilities: they will have to provide their customers or the inspecting engineers / building authorities documentary evidence of stability and fitness for purpose in line with DIN 18008. “Many companies working on contracts are still not aware of this”, explains Sebastian Rücker. “If you don't keep records you run the risk of installing glazing with the wrong dimensioning. That can have tricky financial consequences, even years later.”

Expert engineering knowledge required

For this reason it is important when planning projects to involve a specialist in glazing dimensioning as early on as possible. The complexity of glazing dimensioning – in large part thanks to the introduction of DIN 18008 – means that glass cannot reliably be sized without expert engineering knowledge and precise information on how the sheets are to be integrated. “Just using calculation software is no guarantee that you'll get the right glass thickness”, Sebastian Rücker warns.

„Glas kann mehr sein als nur die transparente Hülle.“
  • Musée Mineralique
  • Alfred-Brehm-Haus
  • Baumhaus Hotel Vieux Manior
  • Evangelisches Landeskirchenamt
  • Nordsilo
  • Hans Otto Theater Potsdam
  • Colour Activity House
  • Heliumverflüssigungsanlage IFW
  • Offene Werkstatt
  • 1a Page Street

Bau- und zivilrechtlich bindend: DIN 18008

Sukzessive haben die Bundesländer 2014 und 2015 die „DIN 18008 Glas im Bauwesen“ eingeführt. Die neue Glasbemessungsnorm ersetzt die Technischen Regeln TRLV, TRAV und TRPV. Das bisher übliche Glasbemessungskonzept wird damit vom Spannungs- und Durchbiegenachweis auf Teilsicherheitswerte umgestellt. „Dieses Nachweiskonzept ist hinsichtlich des Eurocodes zeitgemäß und wird dem spröden Werkstoff Glas wesentlich gerechter“, erläutert Sebastian Rücker, Geschäftsführer der glasfaktor Ingenieure GmbH.

Verpflichtung zur Nachweisführung

Mit der Einführung der Norm ist diese bau- und zivilrechtlich bindend. Bauausführende Betriebe werden stärker als bisher in die Pflicht genommen: Sie müssen gegenüber ihren Kunden bzw. dem zuständigen Prüfingenieur oder Bauamt Standsicherheits- und Gebrauchstauglichkeitsnachweise gemäß DIN 18008 erbringen. „Das ist vielen ausführenden Firmen noch immer nicht bewusst“, so Sebastian Rücker. „Wer die Nachweise nicht führt, läuft Gefahr, nicht ausreichend dimensionierte Verglasungen einzubauen. Das kann auch noch nach Jahren empfindliche finanzielle Konsequenzen haben.“

Ingenieurtechnisches Fachwissen erforderlich

Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass bei Planungen ein Fachmann für die Dimensionierung von Verglasungen so früh wie möglich einbezogen wird. Aufgrund der Komplexität der Bemessung von Verglasungen – nicht zuletzt durch die Einführung der DIN 18008 – ist eine verlässliche Dimensionierung von Glas ohne ingenieurtechnisches Fachwissen und ohne genaue Information zur Einbausituation der Scheiben nicht umzusetzen. „Die ausschließliche Nutzung einer Berechnungssoftware ist kein Garant für die richtige Glasdicke“, gibt Sebastian Rücker zu bedenken.